No Rolling Required

Happy Valentine’s Day!

My kitchen looks like a war zone at the moment.  I really should go clean it up before my Valentine gets home but I have to share a quick tip with you before Quick Tip Tuesday slips by me!  It came to me while cranking out many treats for all my “sweets” today for our family celebration tonight.

One of my husband’s all time favorite treats is Girl Scout cookies, “Samoas” in particular.  I searched the entire north eastern quadrant of New Mexico but was not able to locate a Girl Scout to sell me some of these beloved confections.  Okay.  Searched might be a little bit of a stretch but I did ask around at church and a few of my friends but apparently Girl Scouts are an endangered species around here.

So I did the next best thing and Googled (isn’t it funny that is a verb now?) “Homemade Girl Scout Cookies”.  My internet search lead me to Amanda’s Cookin’ and her take on Samoas.  I reviewed the recipe a few days ago and noted that the recipe called for rolling out the dough that makes up the bottom layer of the cookie.  That is all fine and dandy except I really don’t like the hassle of rolling out dough.  It makes a mess on the counter, takes a long time, and we all know about the dreaded Gluten Monster that might be release should you handle to dough too much.   What’s that you say?  You don’t know about the Gluten Monster?  Then you have obviously never met my mother.  She is a very talented baker.  Her bread is divine and her pie crust is to die for.  To this day, each time my sisters and I help her bake she reminds us to be gentle with the dough so as not to “release the gluten.”  Cue spooky music and lightening flashes.  I’m not exactly sure what happens when one releases the gluten but I do know it is not something I want to experience.  (I’m just teasing, Mom.)

So I came up with this quick tip in order to bypass the whole tough cookie issue.

Quick Tip #3:  Roll cookie dough into a log for future use.

First, I placed the blob of dough onto a piece of wax paper.

Then, I used the wax paper to shape the dough into the shape of a log.  I wrapped the wax paper around the log and put it in a food storage bag.

I had to feed cattle this morning so I put the bag in the fridge while I was gone.   When I got home I sliced the dough into 1/4″ slices.

Perfect little cookies and no rolling required!  And don’t quote me on this because I haven’t tried it yet, but I think this would work for any type of cookie dough.  I often keep cookie dough balls in my freezer for last minute company or a potluck at church that slipped my mind but the act of rolling the dough into balls is tedious and they mysteriously disappear at an alarming rate.  I blame the disappearing cookie dough on my kids’ thieving ways because I would never do such a thing.  Having a log of cookie dough at the ready might just be the ticket!

And here is the finished product of the Samoas I made for my husband.  They didn’t turn out nearly as pretty as the cookies I was trying to emulate but I made sure to sprinkle in lots of extra love so that wouldn’t matter.

Happy Valentine’s Day to all and to all a good night!

Find the recipe here.

3 comments on “No Rolling Required

  1. Lisa says:

    Girl Scouts are everywhere here. I have two of them myself. Having just finished yet another of the many boxes of Girl Scout cookies we purchased this year, I can say that your Samoas look so much better. I am sure that your Valentine loved them. Thank you for sharing.

    • purelymom says:

      Thanks so much for your comment, Lisa! The cookies did turn out pretty yummy. I was a Girl Scout once upon a time and I remember that my parents would buy all the cookies required for me to earn a badge. It seemed like we always had an endless supply of Girl Scout cookies in the freezer. Pretty effective marketing!

  2. Heaven!!! See, we’ve been scared of gluten all our lives! Hilarious.

Leave a Reply

