Authenticity

A few weeks ago I did something I never envisioned myself doing.  I got in my car, drove to the court house, and signed up to run for Harding County Commissioner.  Gulp.  No more sitting on the sidelines.  Put me in coach!  I’m ready to play!

So far, the process of campaigning has been very pleasant.  I’ve be able to go to parts of the county I’ve never been, meet people I’ve never met, and put my hopes, goals, and expectations of myself into words in a way I’ve never done before.  The learning curve is steep but I sure am enjoying the ride.

But some things never change.  When my campaign handouts didn’t arrive when expected I decided not to panic and just do what I do best…  make something yummy.

Hard at work at campaign headquarters.

Is this a typical scene the morning before a candidate goes door to door to meet the voters of the county?  Probably not.  Does handing out homemade chocolate chip cookies portray me as a shrewd and suave politico?  Nope.  But I’m going to let you in on the biggest secret of my campaign.  I am a cookie-baking, hard-working, doting wife and mother with a servant’s heart and a vested interest in the prosperity and stability of this county.  Whew.  There I said it.  Now I’m off to load my kids up in our family car and hit the campaign trail.  And yes, there will be cookies involved.

Vote for REBECCA K. SMITH for Harding County Commissioner!
4 comments on “Authenticity

  1. Kim says:

    I wish I could vote Rebecca K. Smith for Harding County Commissioner! They should know you will be as good a commissioner as you are cook. And you can obviously multi-task!

  2. Jessica says:

    Here’s wishing you the best of luck!!! Go get ‘em!!!!!

Leave a Reply

