Relish the small things

Think big thoughts but relish small pleasures.  ~H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

My mind has been racing since I first opened my eyes this morning.

I have been wondering how to start this blog.  I think of it day and night.  I want it to be perfect.  I want it to convey my passion.  I want it to be entertaining and useful.  I have so many ideas that I don’t know where to begin. 

So I’m going to start small.  I mean really small. 

This is going to be my first step towards spiritual fitness.  Relish the small things. 

When my husband and I were first married and moved to the ranch, I worked by his side most every day.  Now that we have three kids, all under the age of four, he doesn’t ask for my help much anymore.  Hmmm, I can’t imagine why.  So I am out of the habit of day to day outside chores.  But Brandon has been away at a horse sale for a few days so the kids and I have chore duty.  

Don’t tell Brandon, but most mornings this week I have grumbed never-to-be-mentioned words under my breath as I wrestle the kids into their, coats, hats, and boots.  However, through my self-produced rose colored glasses, today’s morning outing revealed many little things that I have not taken the time to relish lately.

Here goes…

 1.  Warm December weather

No ice to chop!

2.  Enough work to build character in a whole army of kids.

My daughter helping me feed the horses

My big kids opening a gate for me

3.  Little creatures

My youngest son

My kids' main man, Coo Coo

A newly weaned colt

Our first customers racing to the feed pickup

4.  Local radio station Coyote Country 96.5 so that we can sing “Two-Step ‘Round the Christmas Tree” at the top of our lungs as we make our morning feed route.

5.  The fact that my kids think that the feed pickup is one of the most comfortable places on the planet.

Pure relaxation

Everybody in!

6.  A job well done.

Last pasture fed

Getting the mail signals the end of our morning's chores

So there you have it. 
Thinking big thoughts but relishing the little things.
Have a wonderful day!
Becky
8 comments on “Relish the small things

  1. Kat says:

    Great blog! Enjoyed it. Especially the pictures of your little helpers!

  2. Kimberly says:

    Love it! Good job!!!

  3. Kim says:

    Wow, Beck! I love it! So basically, “don’t sweat the small stuff” but “relish the small things”? Cool perspective!

  4. Karen Kelling says:

    Wow, Beck. Your blog brought a tear to your mother’s eye. I loved it!

  5. Guest says:

    This is fabulous!
    Can’t wait for new things to be added ~
    Much love
    Uncle Shorty & Aunt Janice

  6. Marge & Al says:

    Dear Becky,
    These articles are absolutely delightful. Your positive attitude reminds me of your mother! Nice website, nice pictures, very good thoughts and excellent writing skills!

    Love you,

    Aunt Margie and Uncle Al

    • Marge & Al says:

      Believe it or not, this is the first blog I’ve ever looked at. Much cooler than I expected. I always think of them as a bunch of snotty bored people arguing. Instead, this is a beautiful family enjoying life!! 🙂

      Much love from Washington,
      Josh

      • purelymom says:

        I can’t tell you how much that makes my day! You kind words mean a lot coming from a computer expert like yourself! Thanks for stopping by.

        Becky

Leave a Reply

