Getting Rid of Big Buts

I wish that I could take credit for this title but it actually came from a speech given by a girl who creamed me in an election for District FFA President when we were in high school.  I remember being backstage with her waiting our turns to go out and give our speeches the night of the election.  When she told me that her speech was about big butts I felt sorry for her because she was, in my adolescent mind, about to embarrass herself in front of about 50 of our FFA peers, advisors, and guests.  I thought to myself, “Oh, I’ve got this win in the bag!”  In my recollection, this young lady’s opening line was something like, “Have you ever noticed that most people in this room have a big butt?”  The audience sat in an uncomfortable moment of silence.  I mentally patted myself on the back for the professional and serious speech filled with moving and motivating quotes and calls to action that I was prepared to present after this disaster was done occupying the spotlight.  But then the tide turned.  Her speech about big butts turned out to actually be about big BUTS and how they hold so many people back from accomplishing greatness.  She gave examples like “I would have better grades in school BUT the teacher doesn’t like me,” or “I would run for Chapter FFA President BUT I am afraid of losing.”  It brought the house down.  She won the election handily that night.  Thirteen years later I don’t remember her name but her clever play on words and, as it turned out, inspirational message, still stands out in my mind. 

The beginning of a new year is always so refreshing to me.  I know that there is no magical change that takes place at the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Eve, but I, like so many Americans, appreciate a the mental fresh start offered by the spirit of the new year.  And with a clean slate in front of me, I am committed to make 2011 the year of getting rid of my big buts.

The area of my life that has almost been snuffed out by my big buts is physical fitness.  I would often say “I would go running BUT I’m too tired from being up all night taking care of a baby, it’s too cold/hot, I don’t have anyone to watch the kids, I’m not motivated, I’m too busy,” and on and on and on.  You get the picture.  But that was the old me.  Today, the new and reinvigorated 2011 me stopped all those big buts in their tracks and got myself out the door and back into the wonderful world of running. 

Thanks to a very carefully orchestrated morning, I had two sleeping little boys and one little girl peacefully playing with play dough at the kitchen table with a clear view of my running route. 

My running program requires a few key elements. 

A place to run:

 

Yep, that’s right.  I ran .18 of a mile to the mailbox and back, over and over and over.  Yes, it was snow covered in spots and muddy in others.  It is not a running route made in heaven but it served the purpose, no ifs, ands, or BUTS about it. 

My Garmin Forerunner 305:

  (Please ignore the fact that it took me 19:33 minutes to jog 1.35 miles.  With my big buts out of the way, both literally and figuratively, this time will steadily improve!)

I rank my Garmin right up there with my Kitchen Aid mixer as one of my most prized possessions.  I love having motivation strapped to my arm every step of the way. 

My Ipod:

Okay, add Ipod to my list of most prized possessions.  This might very well be the most important piece of gear in terms of my running life.  It is the most stripped down Ipod on the market but that makes no difference to me.  Its what’s on the inside that counts!  This little machine holds the lifeblood of my running program.  Drum roll please….Running Mate Podcasts!  Todd Lange, the creator of Running Mate, is my constant companion as I trudge through my runs.  His 5K 101 training program is aimed at beginning runners and I highly recommend it to anyone who needs a little motivation and guidance to get out the door and run.

My Asics Nimbus Gel 11 Running Shoes:

I have promised myself that I will replace this old ratty pair after successfully completing Week 3 of my Running Mate training program.  I can’t wait!

With all of my equipment in place, it’s ’round and ’round the vinegar jug I go.

I had the company of our two dogs, Daisy and Trixie, but the majority of these tracks are yours truly.  It takes a lot of trips down and back to the mailbox to add up to two miles!

And at last, I’m done and stop at my front door rather than head off for another loop.

Big buts about not being able to run… you’re outa here!

Happy New Year and may 2011 bring smaller or nonexistent buts to your life as well!

Thanks for stopping by!

Becky

 

4 comments on “Getting Rid of Big Buts

  1. Kimberly says:

    I love it!!!! I am motivated again, THANK YOU! I’m ready to lose the big butt I’ve been carrying around due to so many buts in my world!!! Great post Becky!!!

  2. Carmen says:

    I love it! And I would totally take your down and back to the mailbox with the gorgous backdrop over my city streets any day! Be sure to look up enjoy the view. 🙂

  3. Love this post. I am going to keep that in the back of my head, that I need to get rid of any big butts!

Leave a Reply

